SA public holidays

south australia australian public holidays and school holidays

South Australian public holidays 2021 – 2023

The tables below set out SA public holidays dates for 2021 to 2023:

New Year’s DayFriday 1 January
Australia Day HolidayTuesday 26 January
Adelaide Cup DayMonday 8 March
(if proclamation)
Good FridayFriday 2 April
Easter SaturdaySaturday 3 April
Easter MondayMonday 5 April
Anzac DaySunday 25 April
& Monday 26 April
Queen’s Birthday / Volunteer’s DayMonday 14 June
Labour DayMonday 4 October
Christmas Eve*Friday 24 December
Christmas DaySaturday 25 December
& Monday 27 December
Boxing Day / Proclamation DaySunday 26 December
& Tuesday 28 December
New Year’s Eve*Friday 31 December

SA public holidays notes

Every Sunday is prescribed as a public holiday under The Holidays Act 1910 (SA).
If New Year’s Day, Australia Day, Anzac Day and Christmas Day fall on a Sunday there is to be an additional public holiday on the following Monday.
If 26 December occurs on a Sunday the additional Boxing Day/Proclamation Day public holiday is prescribed for the following Tuesday (due to the Christmas Day public holiday occupying the Monday). The Sunday is still deemed to be a public holiday in these instances by virtue of all Sundays being prescribed as a public holiday.
* Part-day holiday from 7 pm to midnight

New Year’s DaySaturday 1 January
& Monday 3 January
Australia Day HolidayWednesday 26 January
Adelaide Cup DayMonday 14 March
(if proclamation)
Good FridayFriday 15 April
Easter SaturdaySaturday 16 April
Easter MondayMonday 18 April
Anzac DayMonday 25 April
Queen’s Birthday / Volunteer’s DayMonday 13 June
Labour DayMonday 3 October
Christmas Eve*Saturday 24 December
Christmas DaySunday 25 December
& Monday 26 December
Boxing Day / Proclamation DayMonday 26 December
& Tuesday 27 December
New Year’s Eve*Saturday 31 December

New Year’s DayMonday 2 January
Australia Day HolidayThursday 26 January
Adelaide Cup DayMonday 13 March
(if proclamation)
Good FridayFriday 7 April
Easter SaturdaySaturday 8 April
Easter MondayMonday 10 April
Anzac DayTuesday 25 April
Queen’s Birthday / Volunteer’s DayMonday 12 June
Labour DayMonday 2 October
Christmas Eve*Sunday 24 December
Christmas DayMonday 25 December
Boxing Day / Proclamation DayTuesday 26 December
New Year’s Eve*Sunday 31 December
swagbucks banner 728x90 1

South Australian Government website

South Australian public and bank holidays are prescribed by the Holidays Act 1910.

SA public holidays are administered by Safework SA.

sa public holidays 2021

Previous SA public holidays dates

New Year’s DayWednesday 1 January
Australia Day HolidayMonday 27 January
Adelaide Cup DayMonday 9 March
Good FridayFriday 10 April
Easter SaturdaySaturday 11 April
Easter MondayMonday 13 April
Anzac DaySaturday 25 April
Queen’s Birthday / Volunteer’s DayMonday 8 June
Labour DayMonday 5 October
Christmas Eve*Thursday 24 December
Christmas DayFriday 25 December
Boxing Day / Proclamation DaySaturday 26 December
& Monday 28 December
New Year’s Eve*Thursday 31 December

What to know about SA public holidays

There are thirteen South Australian public holidays observed each year. This includes a range of twelve official national public holidays along with one that is unique to South Australia.

Public holidays that are unique to SA

  • Adelaide Cup Day

Note: Queen’s Birthday holiday is also known as Volunteer’s Day and Boxing Day is also known as Proclamation Day. These two holidays per se are not unique to SA.

SA Adelaide Cup Day public holiday

Adelaide Cup Day is a public holiday that is unique to South Australia. It conveniently provides a long weekend. It is a Group 2 handicap thoroughbred horse race, run by the South Australian Jockeys Club at Morphettville race course. The event was first run in 1864.

Adelaide Cup Day is held on the second Monday of March each year. Adelaide Cup Day public holidays are as follows:

  • Monday, 8th March, 2021
  • Monday, 14th March, 2022

SA Queen’s Birthday / Volunteers Day

This holiday is a movable celebration of the birth of Queen Elizabeth II, the head of state of Australia and of the Commonwealth.

The Queen was born on April 21st, 1926.

Proclamation Day

Proclamation Day replaces Boxing Day in South Australia. It celebrates the arrival of 8 British ships to Adelaide, and the subsequent proclamation of South Australia as a province of the British empire on 28th December 1836.

South Australia regional public holiday dates

South Australia is one of few states and territories without regional holidays.

The timing of South Australia public holidays

Adelaide Cup Day provides a long weekend in the middle of Term 1 school holidays.

SA Queen’s Birthday / Volunteers Day acts a marker for the commencement of the ski season in Australia, though SA has no ski fields.

Visiting SA during a public holiday

The best time to visit SA is February – March. This coincides with Adelaide Cup Day. The Fringe Festival, car races and the Tour Downunder makes the CBD particular busy during this period. Booking accommodation in advance will help ease the price pain.

SA school holiday and term dates

If you’re looking for school holiday and school term dates for South Australia, you can view them here.

Why are Mother’s Day and Father’s Day not listed as a public holiday in South Australia?

Both Mother’s Day and Father’s Day are Observances rather than a public holiday for South Australians. Unfortunately, South Australians do not receive a legislated holiday or day off in lieu.